Cat’s Cradle: Time’s Crucible- Part V

Ace falls into the past; the Doctor climbs into the future.

I’m ashamed to say this, but I’m tired of this book.

I don’t care about any of the guest characters, with the exception of Shonnzi. The other Phazel characters basically all have one trait each (traitor, captain, bullish, pregnant and… woman). Rassilon and the Pythia seem far more interesting but appear so sparsely, and even with my notes I’ve been forgetting what they were doing last time. The Process is plain boring because of it’s basic thought processes, and I still don’t think we know what the stolen future is.

I adore Ghost Light. It’s filled with bizarre characters and a dense plot- but it’s relatable to the audience. It twists the conventions of period drama in a way which enhances the plot, and has recognisable characters to invest in.  This book is like The Web Planet, but at least that had a simple plot to hang the weirdness on.  Time’s Crucible has a complicated, weaving narrative, but does it have a plot?

Visually, the book is stunning. Marc Platt ekes out poetic descriptions of the dying grey landscape- but I can’t invest myself in the drama because I don’t care about the characters.

The conclusion is probably just going to be the Doctor reprogramming the TARDIS anyway. Hopefully I can get to it tomorrow if I have the will power to actually finish reading it.

Cat’s Cradle: Time’s Crucible– Chapters 20-24

Leave a Reply

